Book haul: Classics 

It’s been much too long since a book post on this blog. In fact, I think my last one was my 2015 Book Round-Up.  For my sixteenth birthday, I was lucky enough to get many books; today I am just showing you the ‘classics’. Although most of these I was given, I did buy ‘Far from the Madding Crowd’ and ‘The Outsider’ at a market in Cambridge for just a couple of pounds!

  ‘Wuthering Heights’: fast becoming one of my favourite books of all time. I was so happy to be given this from a friend, and this edition is stunning! I would completely urge anyone and everyone to buy and read this book. I read it in two chunks: the first part took me a little while to get into, as the characters can be a little confusing; the second part I read all afternoon and evening, and refused to move or talk to anyone! I think what I loved the most was that the characters were really strong in my mind, and I could imagine the setting so vividly.

 I have to admit: when I was given this and looked it up, I wasn’t particularly looking forward to reading it. However, I was so surprised how much I enjoyed it! ‘Madame Bovary’ is centred around the life of the main character ‘Madame Bovary’, who just can’t decide who she loves, and never seems to find happiness. I would really like to read it in the French one day, but for now, the English will do to appreciate the exciting storyline and gorgeous writing.

 Ah, a childhood favourite! It makes me so happy to reread this, and to be able to understand the different takes on it, as well. This edition has a really interesting introduction which offers insight into the book that I never would have thought of. What better time to reread both of these stories then now: just before ‘Through the Looking-Glass’ comes to cinemas!

We have to study ‘The Outsider’ or ‘L’Étranger’ for French A Level, and although we are given a copy at school, I couldn’t resist buying myself an English copy to read over summer. It’s really short but apparently really philosophical, which may be tricky but I’m looking forward to reading it one afternoon.

And finally: Anna Karenina. I bought this for our school speech day to have the school logo embossed on it, hence I can’t show you the beautiful burgundy cloth cover underneath. This may be one of the longest book I will read(800 and something pages), but hopefully I will enjoy it as much as Madame Bovary. Although I did accidentally find out the ending by looking it up on goodreads and reading a very spoiler-happy review. Oops!

I hope you liked this little book haul: I have a few more book posts coming up soon, so look out for those!

-Evie ❁

 

 

 

10 thoughts on “Book haul: Classics 

Leave a Reply

