January reads

I’ve decided I want to share more about books and my reading choices on this blog. January has been fairly uneventful, and although it is usually in months like these that I read the most, this month I haven’t been reading as much as I would have liked to. That having been said, I did manage to read three books.


The Little White Horse- Elizabeth Goudge

This book simply brings back so many memories for me; it made me truly fall in love with horses. As a young girl, I could relate really relate to the main character, Maria. Rereading it, I noticed how strangely poetic it is, this is definitely a book I will cherish and one day hand down to my daughter.


A Whole Life- Robert Seethaler

I admittedly read this just yesterday, but I was so glad that I did. It was originally written in German, and the story follows a man’s life growing up in the mountains. I found it quite heartbreaking at times but yet extremely heartwarming.


Moriarty- Anthony Horowitz

I feel like I have to justify myself for reading this. It is admittedly not very intellectually stimulating, but I think my guilty pleasure in the literary world is Sherlock Holmes. What with the (brief :(!) return of the BBC’s Sherlock, I am afraid to say I have plummeted back into the world of Holmes and Watson!

Now you’ve heard about my recent reads, make sure to tell me yours!

-Evie ❁

12 thoughts on “January reads

  1. haha…first and foremost, I like this post a lot! I haven’t read any of the books mentioned, but they all sound really good! And, I’m a huge Sherlock Holmes fan. but…do you REALLY want to know my reads this month? ahaha I’ll tell you. Emma, Jane Austen (OHMYWORD THIS WAS INCREDIBLE!); Sherlock Holmes, Conan Doyle (As aforesaid, this is a favourite!); Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea, Jules Verne (this was also very good!); Little Women, Louisa May Alcott (a huge fave); Mudfog and Other Sketches by Charles Dickens (little short stories about the people of the Industrial Revolution along with satire); and…The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe, which I just read today and I’m debating if I like it or not. Have you read any of those? And what’s your favourite book EVER? (Mine’s David Copperfield; Dickens)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow thank you for such a detailed comment! You’ve managed to read so much- how do you have the time?! Emma is very high on my to read list! I’m glad someone share my love for Sherlock! I also reallly need to read more Dickens, thanks for reminding me! It’s so hard to say my favourite book of all time although Jane Austen, The Great Gatsby and Noughts and Crosses are probably up there in the top ten!

      Like

      1. Ummm…Idk how I have time. I’m homeschooled though…and I love reading so much that I’ll stay up until 1am reading. Otherwise, I read whenever I have a snippet of time. and sometimes that means all afternoon. Sounds like you’re got some great favourites!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

