Jane Eyre: at the theatre


 

 

 







Last Wednesday me and my mum saw Jane Eyre at the National Theatre in London. I first heard about this new production from a booktuber I watch called Books and Quills. I was instantly intrigued, as I knew how much my mum loves the book, and had always meant to read it myself, so I saw this as the perfect opportunity to do that.

So that same day we ordered tickets, and I set about reading the book. I already knew the storyline, and was expecting nothing less than a love story. However, this is NOT what the book is about. Yes, the majority of the storyline follows Jane and her lover, Rochester, but it really struck me how much more there was to it than that.

It is a story about a fiery, fearless feminist living in a world where women being anything more than a housewife was severely frowned upon.

Then there is the “rich, brilliant, sardonic wit” that is prevalent, as Madeleine Worrall, who plays Jane Eyre, puts it.

I would thoroughly recommend both the book and the play; it is running until 10 January so grab some tickets while there are some left!

I’m now going to reread the book with a fresh mind and take on it!

-Evie ❁

One thought on “Jane Eyre: at the theatre

Leave a Reply

